Ditto Conversation Screen
The conversation screen show all existing conversations and provides a button to add new conversations.
Green Ditto marks to the left of a conversation name mean the conversation is enabled. A red X to the left of a conversation name means that the conversation is disabled. Ditto will not send messages to the participants of a disabled conversation.
The conversation message count and limit are displayed to the right of the conversation name. If the conversation message limit is set to unlimited then unlimited will be show instead of message ratio.
The active participant ratio is displayed to the right of the conversation message count and limit. The active participant ratio shows how many enabled participants there are in the conversation.
To add a conversation click the "Add Conversation" button and fill in the conversation details. To delete a conversation select the conversation you want to remove and hit the "del" key on your keypad.
The conversation settings screen shows all conversation details. Each conversation must have a name and that name must be unique among conversations.
To enable or disable a conversation, simply check or uncheck the "enabled" check box.
Message Count Settings
The message count field shows the number of messages sent by Ditto for this conversation. The count can be reset to zero by clicking the "Reset Count" button. To increase or decrease the message limit enter a new limit into the message limit field. To set the message limit to unlimited check the unlimited check box.
When you want to add a new conversation participant click the "Add Participant" button. When this button is clicked you will be taken to the Blackberry® address book. To add a participant click the Blackberry® button to bring up the menu for the address book. In the menu you will find several menu items related to Ditto which allow you to add the selected contact to a conversation.
Ditto Menu Items
When Ditto is running it adds menu items to the Blackberry® address book and messaging applications. These menu items allow you to configure Ditto quickly without returning to the Ditto application screen.
Show Ditto Conversations
The "Show Ditto conversations" menu item will show you if the contact(when in the address book) or text message send/recipient(when in the messaging application) is part of any Ditto conversations.
Set to Ditto Participant
The "The set to Ditto participant" menu item will change the settings for the contact(when in the address book) or text message send/recipient(when in the messaging application) so that they can speak and listen to other conversation participants. When set to a participant they will receive messages from all other conversation participants. Likewise all other conversation participants will receive message sent from them.
Set to Ditto Speaker Only
The "The set to Ditto speaker only" menu item will change the settings for the contact(when in the address book) or text message send/recipient(when in the messaging application) so that they can only speak to other conversation participants. When set to speaker only that participant will not receive message sent by conversation participants, but their messages will be received by other participants. This restriction does not include yourself as Ditto does not prevent normal direct text messaging.
Set to Ditto Listener Only
The "The set to Ditto listener only" menu item will change the settings for the contact(when in the address book) or text message send/recipient(when in the messaging application) so that they can only listen to other conversation participants. When set to listen only that participant will receive message sent by conversation participants,, but their messages will not be received by other participants. This restriction does not include yourself as Ditto does not prevent normal direct text messaging.
Sett Ditto Options
The "Set Ditto options" menu item allows more more advanced configuration. It allows many of the settings from the Ditto conversation setting screen to be modified without returning to the Ditto application.
The participant settings screen shows all settings for a conversation participant. If the participant's name was available when they were configured, that name will be shown in the "Full Name" field. If the "Full Name" field is blank, Ditto can look up the participant's name from your address book by clicking the "Look up name" button. If a participant's name is not available Ditto will use that participants phone number to identify that participant during conversations.
Participant Phone Number
The phone number for the participant is shown in the "Phone number" field. Ditto will send text messages to this number when keeping the conversation in sync.
To enabled or disable a participant check or uncheck the "Enabled" field. When a participant is disabled Ditto will not send or forward messages for that participant.
In certain situations a participant may not want to have their name or phone number revealed to others in the conversations. Checking the "Identify as anonymous when speaking" check box will tell Ditto to replace the participant's name or number with the word "Anonymous".
In other situations a participant may not want to be identified at all when speaking to others in the conversation. Checking the "Do not identify when speaking" check box will tell Ditto to not use any identifier when that participant speaks.
Speak and Listen modes control a participants ability to interact with other conversation participants. There are two speak modes, "Speaker ON" and "Speaker OFF". When set to "Speaker ON" messages from that participant are forwarded to other participants. When set to "Speaker OFF" no messages are forwarded.
There are two listen modes, "Listener ON" and "Listener OFF". When set to "Listener ON" messages from other participants are forwarded to that participant. When set to "Listener OFF" no messages are forwarded from other participants to that participant.